A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can organize your bookmarks into folders!  Read more here.
Total Members: 314,015
Currently Running With Scissors:
523 Guests and 8 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Is it Ok to buy $400 machine with zero experience in sewing?  (Read 634 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit
1+

Cutiebun
« on: April 08, 2017 07:33:10 PM »

Hi All,
I am a newbie in sewing with zero experience. I want to buy a sewing machine to start with. I intend to make apparel for family, and some home craft work. I am buying a Janome Hd718 mechanical sewing machine with 18 stitches and basic functions. I want a machine which grows with me. It's costing me CAD$400. I don't want to change my machine after 2 or 3 yes, so opting for a good intermediate machine. But I am scared to break it as I have absolute zero experience. So I want to ask if it's ok for me to buy a good new machine or try my hands first on an old used machine(I don't know what shape it would be in). Need advice please.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
craftylittlemonkey
Tutorial Contributor

Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

"Be yourself, everyone else is already taken." Oscar Wilde

Crafting is the best medicine.

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2017 08:06:03 AM »

Hi there and welcome to Craftster!