A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Total Members: 313,856
Currently Running With Scissors:
380 Guests and 14 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Advice for Newbie Sewer? I currently suck Lol!  (Read 396 times)
Tags for this thread: beginner_sewing , advice , newbie , clutch , sewing , pattern , help , beginner_sewing_project  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

glitterstitch1
« on: February 24, 2017 01:56:36 PM »

Hi everyone! Im new to craftser! Super cool to have an online community to talk to about all things crafts and awesome!  Cheesy I  was a knitter(Project Linus) and sewer in high school but wasnt that great. I have since picked back up knitting this year and have been surprisingly good at it. I decided to do the same with sewing...but lets just say my hands are only working magic with yarn and not fabric. I suck at cutting in a straight line, sewing in a straight line. I use the seam ripper more than I sew. I am trying to make a fold over clutch,(zipper involved) and just want to give up. I am in an online sewing academy thats great, and some of my projects like an eye glass case came out great, but this project is giving me hell. I feel soo silly because the clutch isnt very complicated, but i keep messing up my lines. Is this just beginners blues? Does it get better? Any tips for cutting straight and sewing straight? i try not to look at the needle but i still end up a bit wonky. Ive only been doing ti for a short period of time, maybe im being too hard on myself.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
MissingWillow
Sewing in General Moderator
Tutorial Contributor

Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster