A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Craftster is for freely sharing how to make things! Don't post pics of things you sell in hopes of getting some sales or we'll have to bust out the LIMBO stick on you! Wink
Total Members: 318,327
Currently Running With Scissors:
441 Guests and 7 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Flower and Bee- My first embroidery... Do you want it?  (Read 618 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

pinkcatflower
« on: July 06, 2011 11:44:39 PM »

I am just learning, so I thought I'd try out my first stitches, which started with some french knots, which turned into a flower, and then just sort of turned into a picture Smiley

The stitches I tried were french knots, lazy daisy, chain, split, backstitch, stem stitch and satin stitch.  Hey, when you say it that way it sounds like a lot! Go me! Haha.  I was surprised at how easy it was.  But I would very much appreciate any feedback on how to improve my technique Smiley

Here are some close-ups because I love when people post close-ups of their work!  You can see my french knots are pretty irregular.. practice makes perfect though Smiley

The little bee:

The leaf- I tried out the dark green in 6 strands but the rest is in 3 strands I believe.  

Here are some questions for you experienced stitchers:
-What number of threads do you think is best to work with?
-Did I do the satin stitch on the bee's face okay?  I wasn't quite sure what I was doing!  You can see the lines are a bit haphazard, but I do sorta like the effect it gave to the corner of his mouth.  Heh heh!