A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest
News from Internet Brands:
Closing the Craftster Community on December 19, 2019.
Read the details here.
Total Members: 323,619
Currently Running With Scissors:
221 Guests and 0 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials Crafting Calendar City Guides

Pages: 1 [2]  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: a different kind of necklace, img heavy  (Read 6254 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit  
RondaS
Greetings and Merry Meet!

I am better, but still easily tired...

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2007 10:43:45 PM »

I'm just an amateur and I wouldn't know golden topaz from citrine, but I know difference between garnet and carnelian. In my country lot of people who sell jewelry and/or jewelry making supplies don't know what are they selling. That is why I like to ask some people I assume know what is what, and, of course, that is a chance for me to learn something new (like this opal explanation).

Well, whatever you call it, this necklace will look great.

Well, I have to tell you that I learn new things every single day! I would be hard pressed to tell the difference between golden topaz and citrine myself - guess I better put that on my list - since I don't have the equipment to do a hardness test or composition test.

there are very specific ways to tell one stone from another and lists of what makes them different besides color, but for a lot of those tests you need to either have the right equipment and be willing to damage the stone, or know someone who does!

I just joined a minerological society just so I can pick people's brains and find out who in this area has access to the right equipment! LOL!

Do you have anything like that where you are?

Ronda