A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Craftster Tip: Do you know about all of these Craftster features?
Total Members: 315,764
Currently Running With Scissors:
154 Guests and 2 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Garter Lace Tote Bag  (Read 2545 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit  
vickilicious
« on: February 01, 2007 01:57:31 AM »

I really enjoyed this challenge, and I hope it's okay to post this (it's still the 31st in Hawaii, right?).

As a grad student, I have to lug lots of things to and from campus. I designed this bag to be large enough to accommodate my notebook and several heavy texts while fitting comfortably over my shoulder so I can take it on the subway and around New York.

I lined it with white fabric to help the lace pattern stand out, then lined the inside with another sturdy cotton and reinforced the bottom with cardboard so it would hold its shape. 

This bag was a lot of firsts for me - the first bag I've ever made, the first thing I've ever lined, and actually, the first non-scarf finished object I've ever produced.

It works really well for holding knitting projects too - even my 14 inch straight needles!

Thanks for looking!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

krafty_kelly
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007 04:28:15 AM »

Wow, you did such a great job!  I can't believe its your first non scarf!

Your purse lining looks great too.

What yarn did you use?
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Fun4Bambi
Scrumble Curious

Wanted for gluing googly eyes to other googly eyes

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2007 07:01:18 AM »

Fantastic bag! I'm sure you'll enjoy using it.
THIS ROCKS   Logged