A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 296,381
Currently Running With Scissors:
598 Guests and 20 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Joining on a circular needle  (Read 512 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

ooglyboo
« on: March 09, 2006 05:27:15 PM »

I'm making a hat from this pattern: http://www.knitting-and.com/knitting/patterns/hats/london-beanie.htm. It's my first attempt at knitting in the round and I'm going insane. I've tried casting on 4 times already. It's not that my stitches are twisted, it's that when I try to join it always goes terribly wrong. These instructions http://www.az.com/~andrade/knit/circular.html say the first cast on stitch should be on the left needle but when I finish casting on the stitches it's always on the right needle so that I can't join. I'm using cable cast on but I don't think that really matters. I even tried casting on in purl and then turning it around so that my first cast-on stitch would be on the left needle, but I don't think that's what I'm supposed to do. *moron*

Oh also the time I did it the purl way I got this gap between the stitches. Does anyone know how to get rid of that?

Please help! Thanks!
THIS ROCKS   Logged
cupcake-girl
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2006 05:52:13 PM »

Did you try sliding the cast-on stitches down to the other needle?
THIS ROCKS   Logged
ooglyboo
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006 06:31:59 PM »

Did you try sliding the cast-on stitches down to the other needle?