A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 297,568
Currently Running With Scissors:
491 Guests and 26 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Felting A Scarf  (Read 1787 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

meeg17
« on: December 23, 2005 11:30:44 AM »

Hello There,

I am fairly new to felting.  I have gotten pretty good at needle felting but I'm still working on the wet felting.

I have 2 questions about making scarves:

1.  How much wool is really used?  I laid out 3 thin layers and when I was done you could see through it, but when I made it thicker it seems too thick.

and

2.  How do you form the edges so they are strait or whatever other shape you want them to be, how do you achieve that.

Any advice is much appreciated, I just moved and my internet is not hooked up yet but when it is I will post pictures.

Thanks!

Megan
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Jane Doe
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2005 07:42:28 AM »

Hi Megan,

In answering your questions;
1) how much wool to use, is really up to you. I've made items that use the thinnest layers and when the three layers were laid, it was still thin enough to read print undernieth it. I've also made a sturdy hat that had quite thick layers. You can use either thick or thin layers when creating felt, but you will gain different effects depending on your layers.