A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can get cheap (and legal! Wink) advertising by donating a challenge prize! Go here for more info.
Total Members: 305,036
Currently Running With Scissors:
379 Guests and 10 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Cord peaked cap, three pictures [Tutorial with picture]  (Read 81319 times)
Tags for this thread: hat , tutorial  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

theasparagusfreak

I'm studying craft at uni, how lucky is that?

View Profile WWW
« on: August 14, 2005 10:33:57 AM »

This is my first attempt at making a hat. Not enitrely happy with the may it sits, its made from some old cord i had lying around, but i'm quite pleased with it Cheesy

excuse the surly look

my arm modelling it (a bit lighter, this one)

this is the lining for the head band

Right. Tutorial.

This is, i've made two different hats now, i've only got photos for the one that is slightly different, but i'll show you how to make both.

Oh, you'll need
Card/thin sheet of cork (i used this for the later two)
Some sturdy fabric, if you are using thick demin, prepare to break all your "jeans" needles.
A little fabric for the lining
optional- button for top of alt hat.

For Both, you need to start with a "visor"-like base.

measure your head, and then add about 4cm to the measurement. This isn't all seam allowance, as you want your head to be able to "breathe" and you don't want to be walking round with a permanent headache. My hat size is 56, which is a S/M , so i use 60cm of fabric. Cut this measurement about 8cms deep and do the same with the lining fabric.