A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Fanatic Friends of Craftster now have the ability to disable ads on Craftster! Read more here.
Total Members: 299,156
Currently Running With Scissors:
520 Guests and 10 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Embroidery machine pattern designing for selling. Good idea or not?  (Read 234 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Sarahkayday
« on: July 10, 2014 04:30:50 AM »

Hi

I have never used a forum before so please forgive me if I'm going about this all wrong.

I'm a mother trying to come up with business ideas that I can do while looking after my children. I enjoy crafts and drawing and stumbled across people selling their own designs for embroidery machines and wondered if that was an option.

I understand that the machines are expensive but my hope would be that I would make that money back and that my patterns once designed and set up for selling would keep making money for years to come.

My questions to you are
- have any of you tried this as a income source? Is this a realistic idea?
- what level of embroidery machine would I require to test my designs and that would produce a high quality looking end result for the photos in my product ads.
- what level of software would I require to digitalise my own drawings and make patterns in multiple formats for selling?