A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 303,169
Currently Running With Scissors:
664 Guests and 23 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: I have a costs-profit related business question  (Read 1110 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

Crafty Monster Strikes Back

View Profile
« on: July 07, 2014 11:43:07 PM »

This is somewhat simple but I am new in business I cannot make sense of it.

If I spend 900 (stand rent, flyers, shipping and remaining of the worker pay) for a 2 weeks long gig and made 2000 (excluding the daily expenses such as food and some payment for the workers), would it mean it is worth it? my husband previously made almost same amount of money in 40 days and his expense was around 400  . Now he wants to pursue this fair business but I think the costs compared to what we earn is too steep and not worth it since our prices are somewhat low (and that's the reason we could sell that much actually) and if we raise it we lose customers... What do you think?

Chris in VT
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014 03:24:53 AM »

Let's break this down.

You earned 2000. Then you have to subtract all your expenses (stand rent, flyers, shipping and remaining of the worker pay) plus the daily expenses such as food and some payment for the workers.

So in two weeks, you made less than 900. Add in your cost of supplies, and just how much did you make? And how much work did you actually do in those 2 weeks?