A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 299,125
Currently Running With Scissors:
648 Guests and 12 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Best wool roving to use to be dye...  (Read 548 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

GoldenSunshine
« on: June 15, 2014 04:56:12 PM »

I am a newbie in needle felting, and I want to get into learning how to dye my own wool rovings with kool aid or easter egg dye. Does anyone know a good supplier or a good website that sells maybe 1lb of undyed wool, or suggestions on which one is the best wool to use and still able to use the wool to use in needle felting projects?  Smiley
THIS ROCKS   Logged

I looking for fabrics! Willing to do a fabric exchange or some kind of swap.

I am up for private swap for Teesha Moore patches!! PM me if  you are interested! :-D
Alexus1325
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014 05:44:14 AM »

Sheep Shed sells by the pound. I was very pleased with the quality of their superwash :-)

World of Wool also has a good variety of natural coloured wool.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Harlan

Author of "Needle Felting - to the Point"

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2014 05:49:47 AM »

Any naturally light colored natural fiber would work - but you need to be careful HOW you dye the fiber so that you don't wet felt it together. You want to use as little agitation as possible.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

You're unique! Just like everyone else!!
Prittens and other needle felted creatures
http://www.flickr.com/photos/prittens/