A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 297,552
Currently Running With Scissors:
652 Guests and 24 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Spinning kit?  (Read 204 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

time
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile
« on: June 19, 2014 03:52:29 PM »

HI Everyone!

About ten years ago I started to get into spinning but  had to quit because i was a poor college student. Boo! Now I have both money and free time and I want to get back and try spinning again. What do I need to buy as a beginning spinner to get going? I'm looking at a bunch of websites and no one really addresses that. I've still got my drop spindles and some wool and flax fiber that I think will be okay to learn on (it's ten years old). But do I really need to buy carding supplies too? Do I need a niddy noddy? Should I bite the bullet and pony up for a wheel? In case it's relevant I'm learning to knit and I already do embroidery so that's the kind of threads I'd like to spin.

Most importantly where do I look to find a meatspace spinning group? Any suggestions for finding groups in my area?
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Alexus1325
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2014 06:47:31 AM »