A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have an idea for improving the Craftster swap process?  Suggest and discuss it here on the Talk About The Swap Process board.
Total Members: 299,130
Currently Running With Scissors:
531 Guests and 21 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Enlarging help - knitting for VERY big girl!  (Read 344 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Chickidee
« on: July 10, 2014 04:15:21 PM »

Hey all! I'm a huge girl, (80 inch around bust) and I want to make myself a knitting pattern. It will be the first time I'm increasing a pattern for myself, so I'm still learning. Now, I'm thinking the easy way would be to take the 44 inch piece and double the numbers. Will that work? I've already went down a needle size so my gauge is the same as theirs. Any help would be appreciated!
THIS ROCKS   Logged
soozeq
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2014 08:16:48 AM »

You realize doubling a 44" will get you 88" and a bit too large... That will also make the shoulders and neckline way too large and possibly around the middle too. Actually, using larger needles may work better. Measure across the shoulders to see what size will work there, and work with a size that fits there. Then use short row shaping and larger needles in the bust. If you were on ravelry, there's a few groups there that help adjusting patterns, and they could recommend some books as well. You might also find patterns that go up to 60" or more, which may be easier to adjust to your size.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2014 08:18:51 AM by soozeq » THIS ROCKS   Logged

sue
Chickidee
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2014 03:13:31 PM »