A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 297,222
Currently Running With Scissors:
617 Guests and 23 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Need some tips about freeform crochet?  (Read 277 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Wuggums47
« on: May 19, 2014 01:05:00 PM »

I make my own yarn, but have been horrible at knitting, so I tried crochet. I'm a beginner at it, I can follow basic patterns, but I don't have all the techniques that I'll need. I want to learn to do freeform crochet, and I have done one very easy freeform crochet project out of ugly pink acrylic yarn. What are some projects I could work on to add more techniques to my repetoire, so I can use them in freeform? When I start freeforming, is there anything I should be doing other than just making fabric without rules? Are there techniques that I should know before starting? Also for crocheting in the round, do I still chain at the start of each new row?

Sorry if I'm asking too many questions, I just need some help.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
queenofcrows
Unrepentant Alistair/Jowan Whore

Ambiguous rubbish!

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2014 11:17:21 AM »

For me personally, one of the benefits of freeform crochet is going in with no patterns, no rules (other than knowing how certain fiber types react), and finding out what works together and what doesn't. I guess it depends on whether you're trying to have a finished product that will last, or just want to have some fun.