A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Fanatic Friends of Craftster now have the ability to disable ads on Craftster! Read more here.
Total Members: 296,713
Currently Running With Scissors:
657 Guests and 25 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Microwave Glass Kiln  (Read 510 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

GoldenSunshine
« on: March 17, 2014 11:53:19 AM »

I am brand new at this Fuseworks Microwave Kiln. And I am wondering why I have these several huge bubbles at the top of my piece, can anyone explain to me? What I did is, I made sure all my glass pieces were 90 COE, and I might remembered I mixed up Fuseworks glass and regular 90 COE glass that I got from the glass store, does that affect the product? It had everything in there were from the glass store, except the white broken pieces were from the kit that it came with the kiln. Help!  Smiley
THIS ROCKS   Logged

I looking for fabrics! Willing to do a fabric exchange or some kind of swap.

I am up for private swap for Teesha Moore patches!! PM me if  you are interested! :-D
CrazyEyeGlass

Will work for peer approval

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2014 05:28:49 PM »

Bubbles happen! They seem to be a function of glass placement in this case. Call it kiln magic.

If they are the result of mixed COE, your piece will crack. This does not appear to be a case of mixed COE.

If the bubbles are near the surface (if you can feel them dip down), then you need to break the tops of the bubbles (should be quite easy with a pointy stylus) and re-fire.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

My Etsy Shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/CrazyEyeFusedGlass