A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 297,139
Currently Running With Scissors:
588 Guests and 16 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Clueless newbie in a findings quandary!  (Read 257 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

beware wet paint
« on: February 25, 2014 02:31:29 AM »

Hello,

I'm very very new to beadwork and brand new to craftster (long time lurker and admirer though) I'm very interested in working with seed beads and different weaving techniques to create a jewellery range.

Whilst I seem to be grasping the actual weaving techniques and have the foam disks and beading bobbins I'm relatively clueless regarding attaching clasps/closures etc. So far I've been using 'dandyline' to string my beads and have been simply tying toggle clasps onto the ends of my beadwork.

As I'm hoping to eventually get to a standard where I can legitimately sell my work I would like to achieve a more professional and pretty finish. I've been reading about crimp beads and crimp covers but it's always in relation to beading wire? Are they applicable to thread?

I've also read about gluing thread into end caps but I'm worried that this wouldn't give a robust result :/

If anyone has any advice I'd be very grateful and thank you fir reading this missive! It turned out longer than anticipated x
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Onyxnox
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

Crafting keeps the madness at bay. Or is it the cause?

Willing to personal swap for art of my doggies!

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps