A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 297,466
Currently Running With Scissors:
617 Guests and 19 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: New Knitter - First Project WIP  (Read 337 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

krissy-poo
« on: March 11, 2014 06:25:25 PM »

So I have been crocheting for about 8 years, never tried my hand at the needles until now. I wanted to make a Tom Baker Doctor Who scarf, and being a true Whovian and wanting to have it authentic, I decided to knit it. I got casting on pretty quickly, and the knit stitch looks ok (even though I apparently hold my yarn in the "wrong hand"...my left...but it's easier for me coming from crochet). It's coming along quite nicely, except my first color change is on the wrong side...ugh! Being a perfectionist, I debated pulling it all out and starting over, but then decided it will be at the end and no one will notice except me with that much scarf (it will be like 8 feet long, after all). So I'd like to share what I have done so far. I'm also looking for a good second pattern to try. I'd like to knit socks at some point, but not sure how complicated that will be? If you know of a good beginner sock pattern (one that goes into great detail for those who have not done much knitting) it would be greatly appreciated! Anyway, without further delay, here is my progress so far (I started on Friday night):