A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Joining an Organized Swap? Please review the rules and info on a regular basis.
Total Members: 297,177
Currently Running With Scissors:
628 Guests and 28 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Cascade Ruffle Panel?  (Read 572 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

knsnoopy123
« on: November 01, 2013 10:03:42 PM »

Hello, I'm a fairly novice seamstress and this is my first thread here, and I'm in the process of making a full length dress from red and gold organza.
 I've made a 'fishtail circle skirt' overlay, i.e. a plain ol' circle skirt with non-centered waist, worn sidewaysish so that the short side is inline with one hip, and the longest side inline with the other
( I'm hoping my picture-less description makes sense, making up my own jargon as i go along. Undecided)
ANYWAY i plan on having another circle skirt underneath, but want to adapt it to have some kind of panel of cascade ruffles peeking through the asymmetrical overlay. The cascades i've seen seem to be either inbuilt in the pattern in a rather complicated manner (too hard for my poor drafting skills) OR sewn on afterward (i'm guessing the latter would be easier, so i'm leaning toward that). I've seen plenty of ruffles in this technique on toddler skirts, but i'm wondering how i would go about making large scale ones, and how i would add them so that they, well, "cascade" rather than look like random swirly bits I've sewn on in any which manner! Cheesy

thankyou!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

General Multi-Crafter, aspiring young costume designer, bit of fandom thrown in too! Smiley
meleriffic