A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Joining an Organized Swap? Please review the rules and info on a regular basis.
Total Members: 296,688
Currently Running With Scissors:
697 Guests and 30 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Help with Countertop Samples  (Read 757 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

mikey82
« on: March 31, 2013 06:41:17 PM »

Hello,
   I am a scale model builder, not a crafter, per say. I am working on a scrathbuilt skyscraper right now (no instructions or kit), and I am using WilsonArt countertop laminate samples from Home Depot to represent marble. I have used it before, but this time I want to change something. As you may know, the samples are very thick. I want to try to "delaminate" them without destroying the surface. Anyone tried this for any projects? I would imagine some people may have used them for doll houses? The glue in the laminate is normally dissolved with solvents, but I do not want to use solvents for risk of damaging the surface. I was thinking about maybe hot/boiling water. I did get a couple extras to experiment. I would appreciate any info though, if anyone has any experience with these!
Thanks!
Mike, New Jersey
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Ludi
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

May the Ghost Squid be with you

Team Wordy!

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013 02:34:20 PM »