A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Craftster is for freely sharing how to make things! Don't post pics of things you sell in hopes of getting some sales or we'll have to bust out the LIMBO stick on you! Wink
Total Members: 302,794
Currently Running With Scissors:
769 Guests and 35 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Embroidery noob needs help with too-small fabric?  (Read 570 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Greys Princess
« on: March 10, 2013 08:32:01 PM »

Okay, so long story short, I'm very new to embroidery. That really doesn't excuse what happened, because I should have known better regardless, but I'm prefacing this all with that in the vain hope that it will make me look a little less stupid.

Basically what happened is I started out my work planning to work in a 5" hoop. I have a 5" tension hoop, and had started it a little in that, but decided to go get a standard screw-tight hoop (is there some fancy technical name for these?) of the same size so I could finish it and hang it. I had cut my fabric accordingly.

When I went to go get my hoop, all they had was 6" hoops (which actually look a lot better for the design I had planned anyway, because I fail at making a rectangular inspiration picture fit correctly into a circular space) so I got it and finished the embroidery in that. Now, though, I'm wanting to finish the back of the hoop so I can hang it up, and I've only got about a 1/2" of excess fabric at the top and bottom of the hoop (the sides are fine).