A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 298,074
Currently Running With Scissors:
678 Guests and 30 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Trying to turn this large seashell into a ring box -- how to make it open?  (Read 830 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

bird catbird
« on: December 31, 2012 02:31:59 PM »

Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum, I am a beginner crafter I suppose, it sort of just happened after getting sober about 6 months ago. I love to use foam and crazy glue, and I like to paint wood, rocks, and seashells.

My lover friend is a scuba diver and found this gigantic seashell under the water with both pieces intact. I want to turn it into a sort of functioning ring box so I can pop a special question when we go on vacation together. I have uploaded a couple pictures so you can see, there is a bit of an opening in the back whe I might be able to attach some sort of hinge. The only problem is it will need to allow a bit of "give" for the part of the shell that juts out to at least be able to open it 90 degrees.

It closes pretty well but there is still a large gap all the way around. I may leave that as is and just ensure the ring is secure, but I am also imagining possibly attaching a zipper so that I can zip the shell shut. So my questions are

Any advice on a type of hinge I can buy or construct to make this shell open 90 degrees and close?

Any advice on attaching a zipper around the mouth of the shell?