A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Did you know you can view all images posted by a member? Learn how here!
Total Members: 297,052
Currently Running With Scissors:
637 Guests and 37 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: I'm new to ceramics- help & advice needed!  (Read 431 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Tylon

Graphic Designer & Crafter!

View Profile WWW
« on: December 02, 2012 07:39:11 AM »

Hello everybody,

We have a friend who has all these ceramic supplies they are selling for a bargain, (special ovens, machines, molds, paints, etc they used to run a ceramics business apparently) and we want to start a new hobby with everything. I have no idea where to start when it comes to this, I honestly know nothing about ceramics to begin with. I have seen some BEAUTIFUL ceramic art which I admire, and jumped on this whole opportunity to learn something new.

My Dad had some concerns since the items and materials are older (I'm going to estimate 15 years or so old) Some of the clay provided is apparently older and hardened; is there a way to work with this? The paints might have thickened as well, so I'm not sure if there is a solution to help ease up the thickness of the clay and perhaps paints.