A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can now organize your bookmarks into folders!  Read more here.
Total Members: 297,065
Currently Running With Scissors:
410 Guests and 10 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Silicone Mold And Resin Technique  (Read 545 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

zunebuggy
« on: October 16, 2012 10:34:28 AM »

I'm new to silicone molds and resin.  Not new to crafting.

I want to make a silicone rubber mold of some keys removed from a keyboard.  I am using a clear resin for the casting material. I also am going to mix some pigment in with the resin.  I want the finished keys to be a transparent neon green (via the pigment). I read reviews that with Amazing Mold Putty, the putty is not that smooth and clear objects made from resin in these molds will come out cloudy instead of clear due to the slight texture of Amazing Mold Putty.  Also I have never done this before, so I want to know the best way.