A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 302,612
Currently Running With Scissors:
753 Guests and 29 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Best way to block cotton sweater and sizing issues  (Read 743 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Split Needles
« on: October 08, 2012 11:35:09 AM »

I've just knit my just first human garment - I've knit countless dog sweaters - and so I'm new to blocking. (Actually this will be my first attempt at blocking.) I've knit the Hotness Top - http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/hotness-top - from Red Heart, but I had a few problems with it along the way. I made the small, but it is a bit too short and much too wide. There's about 3 inches of extra width at the waist. Funny thing is, it actually turned out a bit smaller than what the pattern says, but it's still a tad roomy and it's kind of unflattering. The gauge was off no matter what size needles I used so I think that may have had something to do with it. But will blocking help resize the top to fit a bit better? And what's the best way to block cotton knitwear? Steam blocking? Wet blocking? I read somewhere that cotton tends to stretch with wear, so perhaps I should have chosen a different fiber? Should I just frog it and start all over with wool yarn? I just have no idea how to go about fixing this and I really want to be able to wear it since it is my first top. Any help is greatly appreciated!
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Split Needles