A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 298,759
Currently Running With Scissors:
374 Guests and 8 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: How to Make Your Own Pattern  (Read 3090 times)
Tags for this thread: tutorial , toys_challenge_8_tutorials  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

weebeasties
« on: August 29, 2012 06:42:33 PM »

Hi, my name is Gratia, and I love to sew. I am self taught, but I would love to show y'all how to make your own patterns. This is, of course, my way of doing things, but feel free to do it however you want. I'd love to see what you guys make, and I'm sorry for all the photos. I wanted to have a clear photo to document each step, but don't worry, it's not complicated, just time consuming. Thanks!

I will be making a capybara, and the finished project looks like this:

1) Find a photo on the internet. Find several. The main one should be a clear side profile, and you should also have at least one view of it's head.
http://www.cryptomundo.com/wp-content/uploads/the-capybara.jpg  Side Profile
http://th01.deviantart.net/fs71/PRE/f/2010/183/9/2/9266f7ea9ae7ad3794132fec16cb9577.jpg

2) Print out the side profile and cut it out. You may need to draw the rest of it's legs/feet if they are obscured by grass or whatever. Again, the interwebs is your friend and use lots of reference pictures. This is your side body pattern.

3) Mark on the white side where you want the stomach/head gusset to start and end.