A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 297,170
Currently Running With Scissors:
536 Guests and 16 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Newbie questions ... (tiptoeing into quilting by making a rag quilt)  (Read 622 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Em77
« on: June 03, 2012 03:27:26 PM »

Smiley  Thanks for taking the time to read this:  I am new to sewing and I have never attempted a quilt.  They scare me, LOL.  I REALLY want to make one but I decided to attempt a rag quilt first... just to get used to the cutting and the arranging and all of that... then on to a REAL quilt.  I have a lot of basic questions though.  I have read many tutorials on rag quilts but my questions are so BASIC that I guess people think it is common knowledge or common sense... unfortunately it is not for me... yet.   Huh  First off I am using my daughter's old receiving blankets, I saw that flannel is a good medium for this and I believe that all of those blankets are flannel.  I think it could be an awesome keepsake for her.  I do not have a lot of money so I am going to use fleece that I already own as my batting.  I am going to cut the flannel and the fleece the same size instead of cutting the batting smaller, it is pink and I believe that it will look super cute hanging out of the edges and it will also add some continuity to the blanket.  I know that the flannel will fray and the fleece will not, but I think it will look cute.  I am debating on whether or not I should sew the "