A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 295,046
Currently Running With Scissors:
778 Guests and 25 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Tire tread quilting  (Read 1323 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

chryster
« on: January 29, 2012 10:39:52 AM »

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm kind of new to quilting and I want to make a quilt for my very best friend who's really, really into his Kawasaki motorcycle. I'm planning on just sewing two lengths of yardage together for the black so it won't be traditional quilt blocks of any kind and then doing the big green K as an applique. The backside will probably just be more yardages of black fabric sewn together but I'm not 100% sure on that yet. What I really need help figuring out is the sewing of the tire tread pattern which will be green thread on the black fabric and black thread on the green fabric. Does anyone have any ideas on what the most efficient way to do this would be?
Thanks!

http://www.craftster.org/pictures/data/500/290401_29Jan12_Screen_shot_2012-01-29_at_11_28_29_AM.png
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Eamea
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012 10:16:12 AM »

I don't know if it's the most efficient, but here's the way I would do it.  Wink