A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Joining an Organized Swap? Please review the rules and info on a regular basis.
Total Members: 302,582
Currently Running With Scissors:
539 Guests and 13 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Beginner here!  (Read 1604 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

iBritt
« on: August 14, 2008 10:25:42 PM »

Okay, so I just became interested in crafts, and I've already made a duct tape wallet, and this weekend, I considered tackling a duct tape messenger bag.

But I want to make other types of bags as well, involving cloth and fabric.  I have no sewing skills...whatsoever .  I'm willing to learn! As soon as I find a cheap sewing machine.

Any tips?
THIS ROCKS   Logged
dsam4701
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008 04:22:03 PM »

First of all, welcome to the wonderful world of crafting.

That being said, I would suggest using a pattern as a means to learning how to make a fabric bag. I say this because a pattern can teach you the proper order in which to assemble a bag and it tells you exactly what materials you need to make the bag.

After you get the hang of putting bags together it will be easier for you to make patterns for your own bags.

Good Luck.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
groooovy
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2008 05:57:02 PM »

Yes, Welcome!  Cheesy
I agree with DSam, start with a simple type pattern and learn.  You'll learn tons very quickly.
Don't be in a hurry, practice on cheap fabric.
Hope you find a good machine soon.  Wink
THIS ROCKS   Logged

hat-and-bag-lady

Too lazy 2 work, too honest 2 steal, jst rt to sew

View Profile