A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Please remember to SEARCH before asking a question that may have already been answered. Thanks!
Total Members: 300,899
Currently Running With Scissors:
329 Guests and 3 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Choosing Interfacings  (Read 1444 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

armywife116
« on: June 26, 2011 06:17:00 AM »

was wondering the best interfacing for handbags to hold their shape and give them a substantial feeling.

have been using Craft Fuse, but because I'm new to sewing, is there something else I should be using, or something I should try out?

THIS ROCKS   Logged
little me
Little Me Crafts

Enjoy Life's Little Pleasures

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011 08:47:50 AM »

You should try different ones to see which one will work for you - there's no right or wrong here. For a substantial bag, start w/a medium weight interfacing & go from there. You can either interface both sides w/medium(lining & main fab) for good structure or put medium interface on 1 side & a lighter weight on the other or nothing on the other side for less structure. It all depends on how you want the bag to hold up. I use Pellon Craft Bond - seems to work the best for me.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

christianmarie
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2011 11:21:15 PM »

You can use any fabric as interfacing. The non-woven interfacing that you buy in stores is garbage in my opinion, and the woven stuff is too light-weight for most bags.