A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 302,606
Currently Running With Scissors:
425 Guests and 2 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Flower and Bee- My first embroidery... Do you want it?  (Read 360 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

pinkcatflower
« on: July 06, 2011 11:44:39 PM »

I am just learning, so I thought I'd try out my first stitches, which started with some french knots, which turned into a flower, and then just sort of turned into a picture Smiley

The stitches I tried were french knots, lazy daisy, chain, split, backstitch, stem stitch and satin stitch.  Hey, when you say it that way it sounds like a lot! Go me! Haha.  I was surprised at how easy it was.  But I would very much appreciate any feedback on how to improve my technique Smiley

Here are some close-ups because I love when people post close-ups of their work!  You can see my french knots are pretty irregular.. practice makes perfect though Smiley

The little bee:

The leaf- I tried out the dark green in 6 strands but the rest is in 3 strands I believe.  

Here are some questions for you experienced stitchers:
-What number of threads do you think is best to work with?
-Did I do the satin stitch on the bee's face okay?  I wasn't quite sure what I was doing!  You can see the lines are a bit haphazard, but I do sorta like the effect it gave to the corner of his mouth.  Heh heh!