A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 296,405
Currently Running With Scissors:
830 Guests and 25 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: 1 2 [All]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: sewing tip: pinning made easy  (Read 4914 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

sheeshoo
« on: March 17, 2004 08:15:25 AM »

Let me start by saying that I am VERY new to sewing. I've just been learning how to use my sewing machine over the past couple months. Yeah, I'm 30, but you can learn something new at any age!

One of my frustrations has been with something that SHOULD be very simple - pinning pieces together so that you can sew. I am just not good at this. After poking my fingers, bleeding on the fabric and or getting the pins caught up in the foot on the sewing machine, I thought, there has to be an easier way.

Those of you that are truely gifted with sewing may laugh at this, but for me, this works wonders. I STAPLE the fabric pieces together. Yeah you read that right - I just used my desk stapler and stapled instead of pinning. I could staple right up to the edge and save my fingertips, sewing machine, and sanity. The staples come out super easily, the foot of the machine glides right over them and the holes are not bigger than what you would get from pinning.

I know this is unconventional, but if someone out there is like me and having trouble with some of the sewing basics - this may help you too.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
hijole
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2004 08:40:08 AM »

That's the best idea I've heard in a long time.