A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 302,805
Currently Running With Scissors:
522 Guests and 15 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: This Grillin Fool Went Hog Wild Over the Holiday Weekend  (Read 739 times)
Tags for this thread: pork  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

TheFanatic
« on: May 31, 2011 07:54:04 AM »

That's right, whole hog.  I've never done one before, and honestly, I was more than a little intimidated.  I mean it's a 60 pound pig.  If I had done 60 pounds of pork shoulders and one was over or under cooked, it would be OK, the rest would suffice, but if I over or undercook the pig, then I'd be SOL.  Turns out it's really easy.  The hardest part was getting a grill.  This was a huge hit.  It was really an amazing success and something we will do annually now. 

Here's the link to the longest post in the sites history (and by far the most pictures) and here are those pictures:

And here is the rest of the post, sans pics, for the link averse:

I have to warn you, seeing how this is the biggest thing weve ever grilled, this will also be our longest post.  This pig weighed in at 60 pounds.  Weve grilled more than 60 pounds of meat a few times, but weve never grilled one thing that weighs 60 pounds.

Also, Im quite proud to say that my beautiful wife was the one who came up with the idea for this pig roast/luau for Memorial Day Weekend and our youngest sons first birthday.  Its rather refreshing since shes not much for anything with the slightest hint of smokiness.  Ironic, I know.