A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can now organize your bookmarks into folders!  Read more here.
Total Members: 304,845
Currently Running With Scissors:
362 Guests and 11 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Tell it to me straight . . . .  (Read 1226 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Some_Girl
If you want to get laid, go to college. If you want an education, go to the library. ~ Frank Zappa

View Profile WWW
« on: March 28, 2011 08:40:46 AM »

am I insane? I'm a complete and total newbie when it comes to knitting. I crocheted like one blanket a million years ago. I keep meaning to learn how to knit but never finding the time. I'm now totally obsessed by this project http://ajoureblog.com/tag/knitted-pouf/ So is it insane of me to think I could ever possibly pull this off? Is this the kind of thing only a seasoned pro should attempt? I understand that using the thickest gauge of super chunky wool would be to my untrained benefit, but what are the chances the sheer scale, my greeness, perhaps a varying tension as I learn, will leave me with a tangled mess of wool and send me running from the knitting fold before I've even begun? lol Tongue Any opinions are welcome! Seriously!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Oyhana
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011 09:30:04 AM »

Why don't you just try it?  Jump right in!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Pinterest     

Personal swap friendly!  Especially ATCs!
Tephra
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011 12:31:38 PM »

I think that's actually a pretty good pattern for a beginner, it's just a garter stitch rectangle with the short ends sewn together and the long edges gathered.