A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can get cheap (and legal! Wink) advertising by donating a challenge prize! Go here for more info.
Total Members: 297,050
Currently Running With Scissors:
486 Guests and 10 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: cutting and shaping ceramics -- old plates  (Read 845 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

stolenpostcards
unruly girl who will not settle down: must be taken in hand

turn my bones to milk

View Profile WWW
« on: October 17, 2012 02:50:11 PM »

Hi, I'm a newbie, but I have searched I promise!
I have a load of old plates and saucers that are chipped or broken that I wanted to cut up to make into shapes for necklaces, mobiles, wind chimes etc. I have heard the best tool to do this with is a dremel, but apart from that I'm completely in the dark! I have looked on DIY shop websites at them and found a baffling array of 'multitools' and attachments. If anyone could suggest to me which type of tool/attachments I need for this project that would be seriously wonderful.

I also have no idea of what technique to use once I do find out what kit I need! It occurs to me as well that he finished projects would need to be sanded or rounded off at the edges or something or they could be pretty dangerously sharp!
Any advise would be very very welcome!

Thank you massively in advance! xx
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Turbosaurus
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012 04:39:03 PM »