A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 296,380
Currently Running With Scissors:
514 Guests and 9 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2 3  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: New Sewer - Overwhelmed :-/  (Read 3580 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

BeachBabe182
« on: January 07, 2011 03:44:11 AM »

Hi everyone I'm pretty new to sewing... I did sewing for home ec in high school, but that's about it. Always been really interested in it, but hand sewing frustrates me to no end, and I've never had access to a sewing machine growing up, so havn't ever really done it. The other day I bought a basic sewing machine, I can sew in a straight line and stuff, and I've made a little pincushion, a wheat pack and a softie, but I am pretty keen to start making clothes.

I know to start off small, with things like PJ pants and simple skirts, but I am just feeling like I'll never get anywhere with this, like I don't know how I am ever going to get to the point where I can sew with confidence. Basically I am just overwhelmed. I borrowed some books from the library that teach you how to do pretty much everything... Some of the things in there, I just think "How in the world do people do this" Lol... Does everyone feel this way at the start? I guess there is alot to learn, but how long do you think it takes most people to get a good idea of how to do most things? I feel like it's going to take me a couple of decades just to learn how to make a blouse from a pattern!
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Confuzzle
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011 04:31:02 AM »