A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, it's easier for people to discover it if you choose a great title for your thread.
Total Members: 302,793
Currently Running With Scissors:
804 Guests and 32 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Easy knit headband- great stashbuster or last minute gift  (Read 2058 times)
Tags for this thread: pattern , headband  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

modgeek
« on: December 18, 2010 07:22:30 PM »

I'm still relatively new to knitting, as until last week the last time I knitted was 2 years ago! I decided to get crazy and try knitting in the round (for the first time) and also try new stitches. For the life of me, I fumbled doing a purl stitch 2 years ago and now it's super easy.  Cheesy I tested out the simple basketweave stitch and decided to make myself a headband for fall/winter. Yesterday I made one for my mom and am going to make a few more for gifts.

Here's a side by side comparison. Mine is the purple one made with Caron Simply Soft acrylic yarn in orchid. (I made it long enough to fit my big head. Plus, the acrylic yarn doesn't stretch as much as wool). The multicolored one is for my mom and made with Patons Classic Wool yarn in harvest.

Close up of shiny acrylic yarn and basketweave stitch:

Close up of wool yarn colors and basketweave stitch:

Here's the pattern for the headbands:
*I used size 7 needles for these. They're 16 stitches wide which was about 3" for the wool headband and 3.25" for the acrylic headband.
Cast on 16sts.
Row 1: knit
Rows 2-6: K4, p4, k4, p4
Row 7: knit
Rows 8-12: P4, k4p4k4