A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 300,889
Currently Running With Scissors:
761 Guests and 32 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: My First Purse Attempt (mini-tute)  (Read 793 times)
Tags for this thread: tutorial  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

GlinkS1063

I can make that...

View Profile WWW
« on: July 13, 2010 06:58:24 AM »

This is my first attempt at purse making and by the way this one went I think I will be making plenty more!

I found a remnant piece of cream fabric with cream flowers and vines already embroidered on it and thought I would try coloring the embroidery with markers (which worked out wonderfully). 

To construct the actual purse I took the lining (cut to match the remnant) and outer material and attached them right sides together on two parallel sides by sewing them on the machine.  I turned the "tube" right sides out and tucked each of the unfinished ends in so there was about 1/2inch tucked in and sewed those up as well so I had a finished rectangle of double sided fabric.

I then gathered each corner by hand using a 1 inch gather stitch 6 inches long on the "long" corners (as in long side of the rectangle) and 3 inches long on the "short" corners.  I brought the gathered corners together hot dog style and sewed the two sides of the purse.