A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Curious if a project is for sale, or if someone wants to do a private swap with you?  Please Personal Message the member rather than posting on the thread.
Total Members: 296,583
Currently Running With Scissors:
708 Guests and 28 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Belly Dance Belt  (Read 1297 times)
Tags for this thread: bellydance  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Smeddley
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« on: July 05, 2010 02:45:13 PM »

This is my first attempt, and it's a bit on the cheesy and last-minute side (we decided about a week ago to do a 4th of July performance for some friends!) but all in all I'm happy with how it turned out, and now I can make more intricate, beaded belts that actually fit (as opposed to the tubes of fabric they sell that only fit... well, no one, really).

I pinned the fabric around me (5 darts in all, ranging from 1-2 inches each), sewed them into the facing (sheer fabric with interfacing ironed on) and backing (plain white fabric), then sewed those pieces together and added the grommetted edge pieces.  I slapped on some patriotic plastic bits and it was good enough for that performance!  I do plan to bling it up more if I ever use it again, but I can set it aside (and work on others) until Memorial Day next year.

It only took about 2 hours (I realized a truly beaded one will take weeks, but for something fun and festive and cheesy, 2 hours isn't bad!) so I can make one for every weird holiday and be set!  Talk like a Pirate Day, I'm thinkin' of you, specifically...  Cheesy