A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Curious if a project is for sale, or if someone wants to do a private swap with you?  Please Personal Message the member rather than posting on the thread.
Total Members: 297,023
Currently Running With Scissors:
382 Guests and 9 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Old Hard Shell Suitcase to Camera Case: In Progress  (Read 3561 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

hammer79
« on: March 25, 2010 12:35:35 PM »

I am an avid photographer and in the last year I've started doing some work on the side.  I photograph an occasional wedding, some family portraits, and a variety of other things.  I have a number of cases, but I'm out growing most of them.  I use them all at various times, but I need a system that I can haul a substantial amount of gear to a location.

Pelican cases would be awesome.  But they're expensive.  And the inserts for them aren't cheap either.  I will probably invest in a case or two in the future, but for now I would prefer something with more character.  A friend that I work with has a rolling camera bag - kinda like a medium sized suitcase.

I had already picked up a small samsonite type suitcase at the local thrift store for maybe a dollar.  I've been using that to store a couple of backgrounds.  So, I thought it'd be cool to find another suitcase or two and convert them into my desired suitcases.

I found three in different sizes for a total of 14.  None of them have keys included, but samsonite has spare keys available.