A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can get cheap (and legal! Wink) advertising by donating a challenge prize! Go here for more info.
Total Members: 296,628
Currently Running With Scissors:
672 Guests and 34 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Getting started, fabric on wood dresser  (Read 3686 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Collinsky
« on: January 17, 2010 03:12:50 PM »

Hi! I'm completely new to Craftser but am loving it so far!

I'm here because I have mismatched, beat-up old dressers in my bedroom. We can't afford to replace them yet and I don't want to wait until we can to have a nice looking bedroom.

I am not experienced at all working with anything like this, so any info or advice is appreciated. What I want to do is spray paint the sides and front, and then put lovely fabric on the top surface and the drawer fronts as I've seen a few do with Mod Podge. Then finish off with matching drawer pulls. I need step-by-step instructions, starting right after "empty the drawers and clear the dresser top" because I really don't even know where to go from there.

The trouble is, I need to be able to do every step in our home, while we continue to live in it - although naturally we don't have to sleep in the room where we're doing any kind of project like this. But we don't have a separate workspace, and it can't be done outside. That makes me feel discouraged... but at this point I'm willing to do it wrong just to get it done. It couldn't look worse than it does now! Any advice??
THIS ROCKS   Logged

~*~ Colleen ~*~
I bet I can make that.
Sparkle Motion Dreamer