A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Joining an Organized Swap? Please review the rules and info on a regular basis.
Total Members: 298,767
Currently Running With Scissors:
649 Guests and 13 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: My first dress, but my second article of clothing-more photos added  (Read 1610 times)
Tags for this thread: baby , baby_dress , baby_clothes  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

pixidance
« on: December 04, 2009 04:19:11 PM »

Okay, I know it's a terrible photo, but it's the best she was going to give me!  She's not very cooperative sometimes  Roll Eyes  This is my first attempt at baby clothes.  The only other article of clothing I've sewn were a tunic for my son and basic hemming on a recon.  I made the pattern from a similar jumper I had hanging around.  It's made from pinwhale corduroy and a lovely fat quarter I saw at Joanne's.  I got lucky and found some matching ribbon too Smiley  

This was a trial and error process and I definitely learned a few things along the way.  Things like - corduroy leaves small shavings all over after you've used a seam ripper on it 20 times - make sure you sew the lining on rights sides together before you turn - don't forget to finish your seams so that they stay together while your clothing is being worn.  Overall I'm pleased with the outcome.  There's nothing noticeably wrong unless you look really close.

and now, the dress...

Edit*  I added a better photo
« Last Edit: December 14, 2009 08:07:35 AM by pixidance » THIS ROCKS   Logged

claraohara
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009 04:37:58 PM »

Wow! That is so amazingly cute!