A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 301,981
Currently Running With Scissors:
668 Guests and 21 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: casting roses in resin??  (Read 2253 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

RaraAvis
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile available for personal swaps
« on: October 05, 2009 01:11:11 PM »

I have some small dried roses (about 1" X 1") that I would like to cast into resin to wear as a pendant. I have never worked with resin before and the only molds I could find where only about a half an inch deep. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to do this, or know of any place where I can get pendant sized molds that are at least 1 inch deep? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 06, 2009 08:36:14 AM by RaraAvis » THIS ROCKS   Logged

TheWatchman
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009 10:22:31 PM »

I might beable to help. You can use ice trays. You do need release solution which you can get at Micheals and Hobby Lobby. I highly suggest using Envirotex Lite resin. The Casting Craft Resin is crap and hard to mix. Envirotex Lite is equal two part resin. Equal amount of resin and hardner. Very easy to use. If icetrays are not up your alley... you can try googling plastic containers.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
booglass
Coin Operated Crafter

I made a hell of a lot of crafts to get here.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009 06:41:58 AM »