A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Fanatic Friends of Craftster now have the ability to disable ads on Craftster! Read more here.
Total Members: 297,720
Currently Running With Scissors:
659 Guests and 32 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Full Size Charm Pack Quilt  (Read 3955 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

charaxesdistanti
« on: August 27, 2009 08:36:30 PM »

I really want to try and make a quilt for my bed but I have never done quilting before. I read about charm packs which would be ideal considering I have no room whatsoever to cut my own blocks or even that much time to do it. I was wondering how many charm packs would I need to make a full sized quilt?

I am up to suggestions for other methods of using pre-cut fabric, but I really need it to be affordable. I want to just buy a quilt but there are none that I like and that are usually out of my price range (70-100+$). Thanks for any input or advice.  Grin
THIS ROCKS   Logged

"Tell us a story, I know you're not boring"
rainylakechick
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009 09:05:36 PM »

Charm packs are 5 x 5 inches.  You need to sew each square with a 1/4 inch seam allowance on each side, so the finished square will be 4.5 inches squared. 

In general, these are the dimensions for quilt sizes:

* Twin: 68 x 86"
* Full / Queen: 92 x 88"
* King / Cal. King: 108 x 92"

To know how many charm squares you need, just do the math. 

* Twin: 15 squares x 19 squares --> 285 squares
* Full / Queen: 20 x 20 --> 400 squares
* King / Cal. King: 24 x 20 --> 480 squares