A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 302,575
Currently Running With Scissors:
752 Guests and 32 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Capri-Sun bag  (Read 5062 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

santacruzsugar
« on: July 05, 2009 10:22:17 PM »

I know using Capri Sun pouches is not original, but I love my new bag.

Some background: I work as a recycling coordinator for the garbage company, which means I go to schools and businesses and teach them how to recycle. I needed a bag to carry my paperwork, stickers, other outreach supplies, and I wanted something that was all recycled material.

And for the record, I hate capri-suns and their fake juice and the non-recyclable mylar packaging. But apparently kids love them, and I used to work at an environmental school. The kids would always bring them in their lunches, so I rescued them from the landfill, knowing that one day I would use them.

The straps are bright blue suede from the thrift store. Its amazing what some people will give away! I got almost a yard for only $1.50! I had to refrain from buying the bright green...

The white is linen from a tablecloth (also thrift store).

The pockets are constructed from fabric from an old dog bed cover. I used to work at a dog boutique store and a customer brought it in to get a replacement because their dog chewed the zipper. It was going to get thrown away, but I saved it, washed it, and used it!