A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 300,905
Currently Running With Scissors:
542 Guests and 5 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Altered/Altar'd Book Shrine  (Read 2836 times)
Tags for this thread: altered_book , shrine , virgin_mary  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Tularosa
« on: August 18, 2009 04:31:15 PM »

This is my first attempt at an altered book--literally an altar'd book--a shrine to the Virgin of Guadalupe and her reading habits.

The book is--was--a hardback novel from the '40s. All the components (the Virgin, the roses) are made from the pages I cut out of the book. I only added some gold paper, glitter, acrylic paint, and a LOT of glue.

Here are a couple of close ups:

I don't think she's reading THE good book, just a good book. Maybe some chick lit?  Cheesy
THIS ROCKS   Logged

"Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working." - Pablo Picasso
vanessow
Zombie Hunter Buys Cheese, Causes Riot

If it ain't broke - Decorate it.

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2009 04:51:57 PM »

This is pretty cool. I have always wanted to experiment in altered books, but can't bring myself to cut.

It is a good inspirational shrine for an art room.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

--------------------
♣ \/ @ ŋ @ ♣
http://www.vanessow.com
Tularosa
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2009 07:49:20 PM »

It is hard to slice into a book! Maybe choose a book that you don't like? That may make it easier. Smiley
THIS ROCKS   Logged

mafiosagrrl