A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 300,912
Currently Running With Scissors:
332 Guests and 0 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: The ORIGINAL photographic process, blended with the spice of Digital!  (Read 7469 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Retro_Rose

I shoot people for a living. ;o)

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« on: July 01, 2009 09:47:03 AM »

Hello There!

I'm glad you're checking out this entry, because not only are you going to see something cool, you're going to learn something new!
Huzzah!
For my first ever entry to a contest here, I decided to bring a revolution!! I created a digital negative in Photoshop to create a classical calotype on canvas! This is truly a project that gives props to old school! Wink he he.

My goal for this entry was to connect our past and our present in a crafty way.
But before I explain, I'll show you the finished piece for my entry.

This, my dear friends, is an actual calotype.
I exposed it on regular old canvas as a direct positive.
No ink jet. No paint. No glue.
This is serious chemical play my friends. Gloves and eye protection please! Smiley

The very FIRST negative to positive process was called the Calotype. So right here and now, I'm giving my credits to Fox Talbot, inventor. Even though he's dead, I'm sure he's thrilled. Cool

So how did I get a PHOTOGRAPHIC POSITIVE on canvas?? There is a knack to this.

(Close up sample)