A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 297,458
Currently Running With Scissors:
735 Guests and 34 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Uncle Wiggly Pillow  (Read 612 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Beeclef

The crafter formerly known as Bongirl5

View Profile WWW
« on: June 28, 2009 10:13:37 PM »

This is my very first attempt at quilting of any kind.  I discovered that my measuring and calculating skills leave a lot to be learned, and I desperately want to take classes.  I found fabric at Tallmouse the other day that had scenes from childhood stories on them.  I remember my Mom reading my sister and I these books when we were little, and I freaked when I saw the fabric.  The only thing I could think of to do with it so far is to take a panel at a time and quilt with them. So, here's the pillow.  It's not perfect, but for a first attempt, I'm pretty happy.  It's not "my style" really, but the colors made sense with the fabric block. I still think it's adorable. What do you guys think?

I don't know why the corners look all strange in this pic, they're normal.

Closeup of Uncle Wiggly and the bunny babies (I think it's the story of Uncle Wiggly, as far as I know)

I quilted the back panel diagonally, and I'm glad I did.  I think it adds a little something.

I also used red piping around the edge to give it a little extra polish, and I love it. Hooray for more quilting ventures! (And signing up for classes soon!)
THIS ROCKS   Logged