A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 297,063
Currently Running With Scissors:
491 Guests and 11 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: quilt applique help for a newby!  (Read 688 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

beledi
« on: May 16, 2009 04:44:22 PM »

Okay, so I've made a couple of quilts before, but I'm feeling intimidated by my next quilt because it involves appliques and I've never done appliqueing before. This one's for my niece and I got a bunch of different types of light blue fabric to make up the background and tons of all sorts of different butterfly appliques. My plan was to just sort of put the butterfly appliques on all over the place, kinda randomly and not too planned, but I'm not sure where to start. The appliques are different shapes and sizes, some of them have fusible stuff on the back and some don't. I don't know where to begin. Should I put the appliques on blocks before I sew them together, or after the rest of the quilt is done? Should I put fabric glue on the ones that don't have fusible stuff on them, and stick them all on and then sew them on? Would it be easier to sew them on by hand or machine - some of them are quite shapely and it seems like it would be hard by machine. But what kind of handstitch would I use? If I do it by hand, is it going to take forever and look sloppy? Do I have to turn the edges under on them? That looks hard. Are there any secret tips to make this go more smoothly? What kind of problems am I going to run