A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Need help? Click the HELP link at the top of the screen to read the docs or ask at the Help Desk.
Total Members: 299,140
Currently Running With Scissors:
481 Guests and 9 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: newbie with questions  (Read 803 times)
Tags for this thread: baking , temperature , mold , glue , liquid_clay  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

kavettahulse
« on: May 23, 2009 12:33:00 AM »

I read through the questions and answers and not sure if I missed what I was looking for.  I'm new to polymer clay and bought several kinds from Hobby Lobby.  I'm making whimsical items such as minnie mouse for hair barrettes  or centers for bows.

First off where do I get simple molds for circles and flowers.  Everyone that makes the whimsical beads and hair barrettes seem to use the same molds for the tiny flowers and for the circle shaped heads.  I bought a jewelry mold and it had hearts and ovals, but nothing else that I could use.

Second, the kato clay is really tough. Is this supposed to be this way?

Third I'm using the premo, and sculpey 3 and others, and the temp is different for baking on all of these. Do I just pick a temp in the middle and use that?  How do I know when it's done?

If I am stacking clay on clay, such as hair on a face, do I use the glue or liquid clay first, then bake?  I don't want anything falling off.

I've been on the glass attic site and it was helpful, I just couldn't find the answers I needed.  Thanks so much.

Kavetta
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Diane B.

GlassAttic --polymer clay "encyclopedia"

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009 09:21:34 AM »