A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: If you see a project that you think is awesome and deserves to be a featured project, you can click the THIS ROCKS button to nominate it!
Total Members: 297,040
Currently Running With Scissors:
738 Guests and 26 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Quick Graduation card/gift box & tutorial link  (Read 7128 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Lrschic
« on: May 10, 2009 07:47:44 AM »

My mom is graduating from college with her Bachelor's degree next week. I'm so proud of her, because we were going to school at the same time and when I graduated last year, she felt a little left behind. Now she is finished and I wanted to celebrate her!
I haven't decided what to make as her gift yet, but I did make her a 3-D mortar board cap card.

When you open it up, there is space for a small gift. (The ring is just a prop.) It's perfect for a note, cash, or small trinket.

I thought that I would share the project in case anyone else has 2009 graduates to make a gift for.

For this craft you will need:

Scissors
Card stock or heavy paper (I used black, but you can match the color to your grad's school.)
Yarn for the tassel
1 metal brad
Hot glue gun
Glue stick

Although there are several steps to this tutorial, each one is simple and the craft can be completed very quickly.

1. Cut 5 pieces of yarn measuring about 3 inches. This will be the tassel fringe.

2. Cut out a longer piece of yarn. This will be the part of the tassel fastened to the hat.

3. Tie the long piece of yarn in a knot around the middle of the 5 small pieces.